Watermelon Sandwich Bread

IMG_0795

Watermelon Bread

Today is my first post and I’m starting it F-U-N by sharing a recipe for a sandwich watermelon-look-a-like bread. It only needs the basic bread ingredients: flour, water, yeast, sugar, salt, and a lil’ but of butter. The bread is soft and good just plain or smothered with my favorite peanut butter.

I LOVE making bread, and for this past Christmas my mom gave me Amy’s Bread two cookbooks: Amy’s Bread, Revised and Updated and The Sweeter Side of Amy’s Bread. As a child, I hated eating bread because I thought it was so boring. Somehow, I’ve grown to LOVE eating bread. Actually, it’s become my favorite comfort food. Unfortunately, all the preservatives, flour, butter, and sugar aren’t necessarily good for the soul so I’ve set out to bake my own bread. Yes, it still has the flour, butter, and sugar but at least I’m able to control the amount I use, or try an alternative, like coconut oil or whole wheat flour. Anyway, back to the bread – it wasn’t my first time baking bread. It was the first  time though that I was able to develop that chewiness and softness that sandwich bread is supposed to have.

You can follow the recipe I used here. Video tutorials are so helpful to me. I’m a visual person so seeing each stage of the process works wonders! Hope you enjoyed baking bread as much as I do!

Watermelon Bread Recipe

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour (350 g)
3/4 cup water (170 ml)
1 egg (50 g)
1 tsp yeast (5 g)
3 tbsp sugar (30 g)
1/4 tsp salt (2 g)
3 tbsp butter (30 g)
food coloring
raisins (or any type of dried fruit)

Put yeast, milk, and sugar into a bowl. Add the flour. Mix until it comes into a shaggy mess. Knead for at least 5 minutes to incorporate into a ball.

Add the room temperature butter. Keep kneading for about 10 minutes to get a smooth, elastic ball. Don’t feel tempted to add too much flour. You want it to be slightly sticky, and not too dry. (It took me closer to 25-30 minutes but I’m a very amateur bread baker.) Knead until the dough has a translucent consistency. Perform the windowpane test by taking a small piece of dough, and stretching until against the windowpane. You should be able to see through the dough without breaking it.

Put the dough into a bowl, covered, and let it rise for 30-40 minutes in a warm place. I usually set my oven to 200 F, turn it off, and place the bowl with the dough inside. The dough is ready when it has doubled in size.

Cut the dough into 4 pieces, and knead the food coloring into each piece. Let the dough rise for 40 minutes

After 20-30 minutes shape the red dough into a rectangle. Add the raisins (or dried fruit). Roll it up

Roll out the white dough. Wrap the red dough inside the white dough, and seal the ends of the white dough. Roll out the dark green dough. Slice some long pieces with a serrated knife or into a pattern. Roll out the lighter green dough. Put the dark green pieces on top. Gently roll it, and turn it over. Wrap the green dough around the white/red dough. Pinch the edges close.

Put into bread mold or loaf pan. Cover and let it rise 40-50 minutes. Bake for 25 minute at 360 F (180 C)

Make sure to let the bread sit to room temperature before cutting, or it will be too soft to cut.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

