Sunny Saturdays + Smiles for Miles

After two long, long weeks of rain, we finally enjoyed a week of sun and 70 degree weather. Can I get a HELLO SUMMER ❤ ❤ ❤ ?!?!?!

I just LOVE LOVE LOVE the sunny sunshine. It always make me so happy and excited about the day, even if I don’t do anything. This May started with dreary skies, steady rain, and cooler than normal Spring temperatures. Last year this time, I clearly remember hot and almost humid weather. It was graduation weekend and running around from one event to the next was almost too hot to handle! But thankfully by Mother’s Day this year, it was  beautiful again and a start of a great Spring week.

To celebrate the gorgeous weather, I went for a run in Central Park as my final long run before the Brooklyn Half next Saturday. It did one loop around the park and one loop around the Reservoir. It was warmer than last week but hot, and I could feel it. I was a bit dehydrated at the end but I was able to do about 9 miles! The best part was being able to see the start the UAE 10K race. I usually don’t go to Central Park to see a race when I don’t run it so I don’t get to see the pro athletes at the start. This time, I was able to finish my run to see it. So exciting!

After that I walked down to the MidManhattan Public Library and applied for my NYC ID card. Proud New Yorker right here – it doesn’t hurt that the card comes with a ton of benefits too! Then I met up with my family to go to the Ninth Avenue International Food Festival. There’s a number of street fairs in the city that open every week but this one is unique because it also showcases some of the restaurants along Ninth Avenue. The fair stretched from 42nd Street to 57th Street with foods around the world: Taiwan, Brazil, Greece, Spain, Italy, and more. We spent around 3 hours looking at the foods and ended up sampling around 5 plates.

Get ready…

IMG_1350

German Bratwurst

IMG_1351

IMG_1362

IMG_1365

IMG_1377

IMG_1378

IMG_1379

IMG_1380

IMG_1383

IMG_1384

1/2 Dozen Raw Clams

Of course, we also had to go to some of my favorite sweet treats along Ninth Avenue too!

IMG_1355

IMG_1368

Amy’s Bread

So it truly was a sunny Saturday and the reason for the smiles for miles. Here’s to more sunny and warm days!

Leave a Reply

