July 4th BBQ (city-style)

Happy (belated) 4th of July!

In honor of America’s Independence Day, we had a oven-prepared bbq, complete with bbq wings, ribs, potato salad, and garlic bread. What’s an oven-prepared bbq? Quite simply, all the usual bbq foods but cooked in an oven instead of on the grill.

These are the #firstworldproblems of living in a condo with no constructed backyard grill space. We have the roof, a terrace, and a backyard but none of which are set up for a grill. But my fantastic mama still managed to cook all our favorites:

IMG_1649IMG_1650IMG_1651IMG_1652

What was my contribution? These Captain America shield cookies! I know they aren’t too pretty but mama says at least I tried. There were a couple of problems I ran into. 1. I didn’t have a mini star cookie cutter so I had to make one by hand. 2. I ran out of dough 3. They take forever to chill and turn soft really quickly.

I had make the stars by hand because I didn’t have a mini star cookie cutter, so they’re a bit misshapen. (Sorry Captain America!)

IMG_1656

I baked my cookies for 10 minutes at 375 F because my oven seems to bake at a lower temperature. Next time I might even bake for as long as 12-13 minutes because they seemed a bit too underbaked.

The recipe is adapted from the Red, White, and Blue Pinwheel Icebox Cookies on Just A Taste. I followed Rosie’s Dessert Spot video tutorial on how to make the Captain America Shield Cookies on how to create the shield design.

I hope you enjoy making them as much as I did.

Happy 4th of July! Set those fireworks blazing!

Leave a Reply

